2000 Calories without the Guilt

Maxfactor’s 2000 calorie mascara launched over two decades ago. It was the first mascara my mum bought me and I’ve been using it on and off for about 15 years. It’s very nostalgic for me to use it again and it shows how deep our relationship goes with certain brands. They become etched it our memories forever.

I was browsing the makeup counter the other day and there it was! All shiny and new. So I grabbed it and paid £6.99 for it. I even got a pound discount because of my Superdrug points. (Yeeeeesssssss!) I took it home, hastily unwrapped it and had a small panic when I saw the wand. It wasn’t quite the same. (Noooooooooooooooo!) The wand was now more curved, seemingly for a better root lift. I’m a big believer that the wand plays the most important role, even more so than the ingredients. It was then that I realised that I and bought the wrong one. I had in fact bought Maxfactor’s 2000 calorie volume and curl. A twist on their classic mascara. I decided to stop panicking. After all, there are bigger problems in the world and my cornish pasty in the microwave was nearly ready.

I applied a two of coats of mascara to each eye. Leaving at least 30 seconds between each coat before I applied another. Allowing the first coat to dry ever so slightly is a good way of getting sexy voluminous lashes. The verdict? All was right with the world. It’s still as great as it always was and I’m very glad it’s back in my makeup bag. Highly recommended.

20130801-093706.jpg

Leave a Reply

